Arabian States

  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Arabian peninsula comprises two member states of the United Nations, viz. Saudi Arabia and the Yemen, the independent sultanate of Muscat and Oman, and the British protectorates of Bahrain, Kuwait, the Trucial Sheikhdoms and Qatar.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. O’Shea (R.), The Sand Kings of Oman. London, 1947.Google Scholar
  2. Thesiger (W.), Desert Borderlands of Oman. (Geographical Journal, 116, 1950).Google Scholar
  3. Books of Reference on Arabia.Google Scholar
  4. Ansaldi (C.), Il. Yemen nella storia e nella leggenda. Rome, 1933.Google Scholar
  5. Brémond (E.), Yemen et. Saoudia: l’Arabie actuelle. Paris, 1937.Google Scholar
  6. Faroughy (A.), Introducing Yemen. New York, 1947.Google Scholar
  7. Meulen (D. Van der), Aden to the Hadramaut, London, 1947.Google Scholar
  8. Pearn (N. S.), Quest for Sheba. London, 1937.Google Scholar
  9. Rathjens (C.) and Wissmann (H. von), Südarabien-Reise. 3 vols. Hamburg, 1934.Google Scholar
  10. Rutter (C. E.), Holy Cities of Arabia. 2 vols, London, 1928.Google Scholar
  11. Scott (H.), In the High Yemen. 2nd ed. London, 1947.Google Scholar
  12. Stark (Freys), The Southern Gates of Arabia. London, 1936.—A Winter in Arabia London, 1940.Google Scholar
  13. Wilson (Sir A. T.), The Persian Gulf. London, 1928.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1951

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations