República de Bolivia
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Bolivia was created by a proclamation issued on 16 Aug., 1825, with a constitution adopted on 19 Nov., 1826. The present constitution—the twelfth—was adopted in Oct., 1938, and amended by a National Convention in 1944–45. Under that constitution executive power is vested in a President, elected for 4 years by direct popular vote, and not eligible for re-election until 4 years after his term has ended. In the event of his death or failure to assume the office, the Vice-President, elected at the same time, assumes the presidency, and after him, the President of the Senate. There is a Congress of 2 chambers, called the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies, which meets annually on 6 Aug. at La Paz. There are 3 senators for each of 9 departments, elected for 6 years (one-third retiring every 2 years), and 110 representatives are elected for 4 years (one-half retiring every 2 years). Extraordinary sessions may be held for special purposes when convoked by the Executive or by a majority of both chambers. The electorate comprises all adult males (including Indians) who can pass the literacy test.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. There is no official gazette.Google Scholar
  2. Anuario Geografico y Estadistico de la Republica de Bolivia. Annual. La Paz.Google Scholar
  3. Anuario del comercio Exterior de Bolivia.Google Scholar
  4. Boletin Mensuel del Informacion Estadistica.Google Scholar
  5. Constitucion Politica del Estado. La Paz, 1950.Google Scholar
  6. Brazil and Bolivia. Treaty for the Exchange of Territories and other Complications. Signed 17 November, 1903. New York, 1904.Google Scholar
  7. Reports of the United States Tariff Commission on Bolivia. Washington, D.C. (Irregular.)Google Scholar
  8. Economic Review of Bolivia. Washington, D.C. Department of Commerce, 1947.Google Scholar
  9. The Political Organization of Bolivia. (Carnegie Institution.) Washington, 1940.Google Scholar
  10. Arguedas (A.), Historia de Bolivia. La Paz. 1924. French translation. Paris, 1925.Google Scholar
  11. Kanter (Helmuth) Der Gran Chaco und seine Randgebiete. Hamburg, 1936.Google Scholar
  12. Linke (Lilo), Andean Adventure: A Social and Political Study of Colombia, Ecuador and Bolivia. London, 1944.Google Scholar
  13. Lopez Pedro (N.), Bolivia y el Petroleo. La Paz, 1922.Google Scholar
  14. Marsh (M. A.), The Bankers in Bolivia. New York, 1928.Google Scholar
  15. Paz (Franklin A.), Le Régime Parlementaire en Bolivie. Paris, 1933.Google Scholar
  16. Schurz (W. L.), Bolivia: A Commercial and Industrial Handbook. Washington, 1921Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1951

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations