República de Bolivia
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


THE first Constitution of the Republic of Bolivia (so named in 1825) bears date 28 October, 1880. A new Constitution was adopted in October, 1938, whereby executive power was vested in a President, elected for 4 years by direct popular vote, and not eligible for re-election until 4 years after his term has ended. In the event of his death or failure to assume the office, the President of the Senate becomes President. There is a Congress of two chambers, called the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies, which meets annually on 6 August at La Paz. There are 3 senators for each of 9 departments, elected for 6 years (one-third retiring every 2 years), and 110 representatives are elected for 4 years (one-half retiring every 2 years). Extraordinary sessions may be held for special purposes when convoked by the Executive or by a majority of both chambers. The electorate comprises all adult males (including Indians) who can pass the literacy test.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference concerning Bolivia

  1. There is no official gazette.Google Scholar
  2. Anuario Geografieo y Estadistico de la Republica de Bolivia. Annual. La Paz.Google Scholar
  3. Anuario del comercio Exterior de Bolivia.Google Scholar
  4. Boletin Mensuel del Informacion Estadistica.Google Scholar
  5. Constitucion Politica de la Republica de Bolivia. La Paz, 1902.Google Scholar
  6. Brazil and Bolivia. Treaty for the Exchange of Territories and other Complications. Signed 17 November, 1903. New York, 1904.Google Scholar
  7. Reports of the United States Tariff Commission on Bolivia. Washington, D.C. (Irregular.)Google Scholar
  8. Economic Review of Bolivia. Washington, D.C. Department of Commerce, 1947.Google Scholar
  9. The Political Organization of Bolivia. (Carnegie Institution.) Washington, 1940.Google Scholar
  10. Arguedas (A.), Historia de Bolivia. La Paz. 1924. French translation. Paris, 1925.Google Scholar
  11. Kanter (Helmuth) Der Gran Chaco und seine Randgebiete. Hamburg, 1936.Google Scholar
  12. Linke (Lilo), Andean Adventure: A Social and Political Study of Colombia, Ecuador and Bolivia. London, 1944.Google Scholar
  13. Lopez Pedro (N.), Bolivia y el Petroleo. La Paz, 1922.Google Scholar
  14. Marsh (M. A.), The Bankers in Bolivia. New York, 1928.Google Scholar
  15. Paz (Franklin A.), Le Régime Parlementaire en Bolivie. Paris, 1933.Google Scholar
  16. Schurz (W. L.), Bolivia: A Commercial and Industrial Handbook. Washington, 1921.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1950

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations