Republica de El Salvador
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Constitution and Government.—In 1839 the Central American Federation, which had comprised the States of Guatemala, Salvador) Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica, was dissolved, and Salvador became an independent Republic. A new Constitution, drafted to replace the one of 1886, was approved by a Constituent Assembly and promulgated January 20, 1939. It vests the legislative power in a single Chamber, the National Assembly, consising of 3 Deputies for each department, elected for one year by universal suffrage. Large powers are vested in the President, whose term is for four years; normally he cannot succeed himself. He has a Cabinet of five members.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1946

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations