La República de Colombia
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Colombia, which in colonial days was called ‘Vice-royalty of New Granada,’ gained its independence of Spain in 1819, and was officially constituted December 17, 1819, together with the present territories of Panama, Venezuela and Ecuador, the State of ‘ Greater Colombia,’ which continued for about twelve years. It then split up into Venezuela, Ecuador, and the Republic of New Granada in 1830. The Constitution of May 22, 1858, changed New Granada into a confederation of eight States, under the name of Confederation Granadina. May 8, 1863, saw another Constitution, and the adoption of the name of the United States of Colombia. The revolution of 1885 led the National Council of Bogota, composed of two delegates from each State, to promulgate the Constitution of August 5, 1886, which abolished the sovereignty of the States, converting them into departments, with governors appointed by the President of the Republic, though they retained some of their old rights, such as the management of their own finances. A decree of May, 1928, abolished their right to borrow abroad without the sanction of the central Government.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1946

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations