• M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The new Constitution of the Republic of Nicaragua came into operation on March 22, 1939. It vests the legislative power in a Congress of two houses consisting of 45 deputies, elected for 6 years, and 15 Senators (plus ex-Presidents of the Republic, who are appointed for life) selected for 6 years, all by popular vote. The President is elected for 6 years. The Constitution grants citizenship to women over 18 years of age who can read and write but leaves the granting of the franchise to the decision of the legislature.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1941

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations