(República de Honduras.)
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


On September 15, 1821, the State of Honduras declared its independence of Spain and set up as a Republic which is governed under a charter proclaimed on October 3, 1824. The present Constitution was re-written in 1924. Legislative power is vested in a single chamber, the Congress of Deputies consisting of 43 members, chosen for 4 years by popular vote, in the ratio of one per 15,000 inhabitants. It meets for 60 days on January 1 each year. A Permanent Commission of five members sit whilst Congress is not in session for the transaction of such routine business as usually falls to the latter. The President is elected by popular vote for 4 years, holding office from February 1st.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1931

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations