(République d’Haïti.)
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Haiti, formerly a French colony, was proclaimed independent January 1, 1804, and is now governed under a Constitution ratified on June 12, 1918, and considerably amended in January, 1928. After being in abeyance since 1917 (their functions performed by the Council of State, nominated by the President) the Senate and Chamber were revived in October, 1930. The President is now elected by the 36 deputies and 15 senators, sitting as a National Assembly, for a period of six years.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1931

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations