(República de Guatemala.)
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Guatemala, established on March 21, 1847, after having formed part for twenty-six years of the Confederation of Central America, is governed under a Constitution proclaimed December, 1879, and modified in 1887, in 1897, and in 1913. Finally, in July, 1927. a further revision was proposed which, after ratification by the constitutional assembly, came into effect January 1, 1928. By its terms the legislative power is vested in a National Assembly, consisting of representatives (one for every 30,000 inhabitants) chosen by Universal suffrage for 4 years; a Council of State of 7 members, 3 elected by the National Assembly, and 4 appointed by the President of the Republic, has supervision of public concessions and contracts, and large advisory powers. The executive is vested in a President, elected for 6 years, and barred from re-election for a period of 12 years.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1930

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations