(República Boliviana.)
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Constitution of the Republic of Bolivia (so named in 1825) bears date October 28, 1880. By its provisions the executive power is vested in a President, elected for a term of four years by direct popular vote, and not eligible for re-election; there is a Congress of two chambers, called the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. The suffrage is possessed by all males over 21 years of age who can read and write and have an ‘assured income.’ There are 16 Senators (2 for each Department) elected for six years and 70 Deputies elected for four years. Both Senators and Deputies are elected by direct vote of the people. Of the Senators one-third retire every two years; of the Deputies one-half retire every two years. Senators receive a salary of 900 bolivianos (70l.) per month during the sittings, which, as a rule, last for 60 days, but may be extended to 90 days, and Deputies receive the same. Extraordinary sessions may be held for special purposes. The President’s Cabinet consists of the secretaries of six departments—Foreign Relations and Worship; Finance and Industry; Government and Justice; Public Works, Posts and Telegraphs; War and Colonisation; and Education and Agriculture.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1929

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations