(Estados Unidos de Venezuela.)
  • M. Epstein
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Venezuela was formed in 1830 by secession from the other members of the Republic of Colombia. The Constitution in force is that of June 24, 1925. Legislative authority is vested in a Congress of 2 chambers, the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. The formet consists of 40 members elected for 3 years, 2 for each State, Venezuelans by birth and over 30 years of age. The latter is constituted as follows: Each State chooses by direct election for 3 years one deputy, a Venezuelan by birth and over 21 years of age, for every 35,000 inhabitants, and one more for an excess of 15,000. A State with fewer than 35,000 of population will have one deputy. The Federal District and the Territories which have, or may reach, the population fixed by law will also elect deputies.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1927

Authors and Affiliations

  • M. Epstein

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations