• J. Scott Keltie
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Principality of Liechtenstein, lying between the Austrian crownland of Vorarlberg and the Swiss cantons of St. Gallen and Graubünden, is a sovereign state consisting of Schellenburg . and Vaduz (formerly immediate fiefs of the Roman Empire). The former in 1699 and the latter in 1712 came into the possession of the house of Liechtenstein and, by diploma of January 23, 1719, granted by the Emperor Karl VI., the two lordships were constituted as the Principality of Liechtenstein. After the break-up of the Empire in 1806 the Principality was incorporated in the Rhine Confederation; from 1815 to 1866 it formed part of the German Confederation, since the break-up of which it has joined no similar union.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1912

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Scott Keltie

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations