República Oriental del Uruguay
  • J. Scott Keltie
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Uruguay, formerly a part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata, and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence August 25, 1825, which was recognised by the Treaty of Montevideo, signed August 27, 1828. The Constitution of the Republic was sworn July 18, 1830. The legislative power is in a Parliament of two Houses, the Senate and the Chamber of Representatives, which meet in annual session, extending from February 15 to July 15. In the interval of the session, a permanent committee of two senators and five members of the Lower House assume the legislative power, as well as the general control of the administration. The representatives are chosen for three years, in the proportion of 1 to every 3,000 inhabitants of male adults who can read and write. The Senators are chosen by an Electoral College, whose members are directly elected by the people ; there is one senator for each department, chosen for six years, one-third retiring every two years. There are 75 representatives and 19 senators.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference concerning Uruguay

  1. The Statistical Reports of the various Government Departments.Google Scholar
  2. Foreign Office Reports. Annual Series. London.Google Scholar
  3. La República Oriental del Uruguay. Por Ramon Lopez Lomba. Montevideo, 1884.Google Scholar
  4. Rouston (Honoré), and Pena (C. M. de), La Republica Oriental del Uruguay en la Exposicion Universal Colombiano de Chicago. Montevideo, 1893.Google Scholar
  5. Resumen Anual de Estadistica Municipal de Montevideo. Montevideo.Google Scholar
  6. Bauza (Francisco), História de la domination española en el Uruguay. Montevideo 1880.Google Scholar
  7. Keane (A. H.), Central and South America. 2nd ed. Vol. I. In Stanford’s Compendium of Geography and Travel. London, 1909.Google Scholar
  8. Martin (P.F.), Through Five Republics. London, 1905.Google Scholar
  9. Palgrave (W. G.), Ulysses [chapter entitled ‘From Montevideo to Paraguay’). 8. London, 1887.Google Scholar
  10. Review of the River Plate. Weekly. Buenos Aires.Google Scholar
  11. Rumbold (Sir H.), The Great Silver River. London, 1888.Google Scholar
  12. Uruguay: its Geography, History, Industries, &c. [Author not named] Liverpool, 1897.Google Scholar
  13. Vincent (Frank), Round and About South America. New Pork, 1899.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1911

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Scott Keltie

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations