Republica del Salvador
  • J. Scott Keltie
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Constitution and Government.—In 1839 the Central American Federation, which had comprised the States of Guatemala, Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica, was dissolved, and Salvador became an independent Republic. The Constitution, proclaimed in 1824 under the Federation, and modified in 1859, 1864, 1871, 1872, 1880, 1883, and 1886, vests the legislative power in a Congress of 70 Deputies, 42 of whom are proprietors. The election is for one year, and by universal suffrage. The executive is in the hands of a President, whose tenure of office is limited to four years.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Statistical and other Books of Reference concerning Salvador

  1. The publications issued by the various Departments of Government. San Salvador.Google Scholar
  2. Constitucion politica de la República del Salvador decretada por el Congreso Nacional Constituyente el 13 de Agosto de 1886.Google Scholar
  3. Foreign Office Reports. Annual Series. London.Google Scholar
  4. Salvador. No. 58 of the Bulletins of the Bureau of the American Republics. Washington, 1892.Google Scholar
  5. Corporation of Foreign Bondholders. Annual Report of Council. London.Google Scholar
  6. Gonzalez (Dr. D.), Datos sobre la Republica de El Salvador. San Salvador, 1901.Google Scholar
  7. Guzman (D.), Apuntamientos sobre la topografia fisica de la rep. del Salvador. San Salvador, 1883.Google Scholar
  8. Reyes (Rafael). Nociones de história del Salvador. San Salvador, 1886.Google Scholar
  9. Squier (E. G.), The States of Central America London, 1868.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1909

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Scott Keltie

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations