Australia has adopted a written constitution which provides for a federal structure of government based primarily on the model of the United States. The Federation or Commonwealth of Australia is composed of the ‘Australian’ or Federal Government, numerous Federal Territories, the most important of which are the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory, and six sovereign States, namely Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia and Tasmania.


Appeal Proceeding Supreme Court Australia Introduction Federal Structure Privy Council 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media Dordrecht 1976

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. P. M. De Koning

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations