The Archaea

  • G. N. Cohen


The domain Archaea was not recognized as a major domain of life until quite recently. Until the twentieth century, most biologists considered all living things to be classifiable as either a plant or an animal. But in the 1950s and 1960s, most biologists came to the realization that this system failed to accomodate the fungi, protists, and bacteria. By the 1970s, a system of Five Kingdoms had come to be accepted as the model by which all living things could be classified. At a more fundamental level, a distinction was made between the prokaryotic bacteria and the four eukaryotic kingdoms (plants, animals, fungi, and protists). The distinction recognizes the common traits that eukaryotic organisms share, such as nuclei, cytoskeletons, and internal membranes.


Ether Linkage Molecular Fossil Eukaryotic Kingdom Isoprenoid Chain Archaeal Membrane 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Selected References

  1. G. E. Fox, L. J. Magrum, W. E. Balch, R. S. Wolfe and C. R. Woese, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA, 74:4537–4541 (1977).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. C. R. Woese and G. E. Fox, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 74: 5088–5090 (1977).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. M. Kates, D. J. Kushner, & A. T. Matheson (eds.). The Biochemistry of Archaea (Archaebacteria), (Amsterdam: Elsevier Science Publishers (1993)).Google Scholar
  4. C. Brochier-Armanet, B. Boussau, S. Gribaldo, and P. Forterre, Nat Rev. Microbiol., 6, 245–252 (2008).Google Scholar
  5. C. Brochier-Armanet, S. Gribaldo, and P. Forterre, Biology Direct, 3, 54 (2008).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Netherlands 2010

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Institut PasteurParisFrance

Personalised recommendations