An Indicator System for the Evaluation of Public Health Programmes: The Case of the Region of Piedmont

Part of the Health Systems Research book series (HEALTH)


The Italian public health sector was radically reformed in 1978. The new national health service replaced the previous system which was based on several uncoordinated and mostly single-purpose agencies. At present the National Health Service operates at three levels:
  1. 1.

    Central: the state level

  2. 2.

    Intermediate: the twenty-one regional governments

  3. 3.

    Local: the 671 so-called Unità Sanitarie Locali (USL) or local health units



National Health Service Indicator System Product Indicator Health Service Indicator Efficiency Indicator 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 1987

Authors and Affiliations

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations