Hypothalamic Tuberomamillary Nucleus

  • N. Ulfig
Part of the Advances in Anatomy Embryology and Cell Biology book series (ADVSANAT, volume 165)


The hypothalamic nuclei occupy inferior portions of the diencephalon below the hypothalamic sulcus. The hypothalamus extends from the lamina terminalis to a vertical plane posterior to the mamillary bodies, and it can be subdivided into three major (frontal) regions (in an anteroposterior sequence): the chiasmatic region anteriorly followed by the tuberal region and the mamillary region posteriorly.




Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • N. Ulfig
    • 1
  1. 1.AG NeuroembryologieInstitut für Anatomie der Universität RostockRostockGermany

Personalised recommendations