About China’s Neighbors

  • Asia Briefing Ltd.
Part of the China Briefing book series (China Briefing)

Open image in new window In the updated version of this book, we revisit China’s neighboring countries and take a look at the regional issues that have affected them this year. For investors in China and the region at large, an understanding of the geopolitical, social and economic ties between these countries can certainly support both short and long-term investment strategy.

An Introduction to ASEAN

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) came into existence more than 40 years ago when the ASEAN Declaration was signed on August 8, 1967. Since that time, the organization has continued to grow and command respect in both regional and international circles. The ten members of ASEAN are Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia.

ASEAN exists as a means by which to build and strengthen the links between Southeast Asian countries and to aid economic, social and cultural growth. China retains close ties with...


Member Country Member Nation Kyrgyz Republic Shanghai Cooperation Organization Central Asian Region 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Asia Briefing Ltd. 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Asia Briefing Ltd.
    • 1
  1. 1.KowloonHong Kong SAR

Personalised recommendations