Geological Atlas of Africa

pp 31-278

Review of Countries and Teritorries

* Final gross prices may vary according to local VAT.

Get Access


Algeria’s geology can be subdivided into three contrasting tectono-stratigraphic domains: The West African Craton generally consists of a Precambrian granitized basement and its surrounding Neoproterozoic mobile belts, forming the larger central, southern and western part of the country. The eastern limit of the West African Craton borders to the Tuareg shield, which comprises the Hoggar region and its southwestern and southeastern prolongations, the Adrar des Iforas and the Aïr, respectively. This region has been mostly affected by the Pan-African tectonothermal event. In the north, beginning from Tangier in Morocco via northern Algeria to Tunis in Tunisia, a folded chain extends over the entire length of the Maghreb. This belt is part of the Alpine chain, with its features more resembling the Betic and Apenine segments of the Alpine unit. The Algerian part of the latter belt is also known as the Tellian chain.