Advertisement

Binary Blockchain: Solving the Mining Congestion Problem by Dynamically Adjusting the Mining Capacity

  • Yoohwan KimEmail author
  • Juyeon Jo
Chapter
Part of the Studies in Computational Intelligence book series (SCI, volume 727)

Abstract

Mining congestion is a serious issue in blockchain-based cryptocurrencies. It increases the transaction confirmation latency and limits the growth of cryptocurrency. To mitigate the problem, a number of methods have been used in practice and new ideas have been proposed. However, it is not clear whether these schemes can cope with the ever-growing transaction load of cryptocurrencies in the long run. We propose a novel parallel mining method that can adjust the mining capacity based on the transaction load. It does not require an increase in the block size or a reduction of the block confirmation period. In this paper, we describe how and when to divide or merge blockchains, how to solve the imbalanced mining problem, and how to handle the difficulty levels and rewards. We then show the simulation results comparing the performance of Binary blockchain and the traditional blockchain.

Keywords

Blockchain Cryptocurrency Bitcoin Binary division 

References

  1. 1.
    Tschorsch, F., Scheuermann, B.: Bitcoin and Beyond: A Technical Survey on Decentralized Digital Currencies. IEEE Commun. Surv. Tutorials 18(3), 2084–2123. third quarter (2016)Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Croman, K., Decker, C., Eyal, I., Gencer, A. E., Juels, A., Kosba, A., Miller, A., Saxena, P., Shi, E., Sirer, E. G., Song, D. and Wattenhofer, R.: On scaling decentralized blockchains. In: 3rd Workshop on Bitcoin Research (BITCOIN), Barbados, February (2016)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Tom, S.: Technical Roadblock Might Shatter Bitcoin Dreams. MIT Technology Review, 16 Feb 2016. https://www.technologyreview.com/s/600781/technical-roadblock-might-shatter-bitcoin-dreams/
  4. 4.
    Gilbert, D.: Blockchain Complaints Hit Record Level As Bitcoin Transaction Times Grow And Fees Rise. 8 March 2016. http://www.ibtimes.com/blockchain-complaints-hit-record-level-bitcoin-transaction-times-grow-fees-rise-2332196
  5. 5.
    Average Confirmation Time, https://blockchain.info/charts/avg-confirmation-time. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  6. 6.
    Average confirmation times, https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/48m9xq/average_confirmation_times/. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  7. 7.
    Breaking Through Congestion, https://medium.com/@alpalpalp/breaking-through-congestion-a60b6d1c9d3#.9kb383578. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  8. 8.
    Scalability FAQ, bitcoin wiki, https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Scalability_FAQ. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  9. 9.
    Chernyakhovsky, A.: Bitcoin Scalability: An Outside Perspective. 28 September 2015. https://medium.com/mit-media-lab-digital-currency-initiative/bitcoin-scalability-an-outside-perspective-dd7fde962220#.1i44lqxas
  10. 10.
    James-Lubin, K.: Blockchain scalability: A look at the stumbling blocks to blockchain scalability and some high-level technical solutions. 22 January 2015. https://www.oreilly.com/ideas/blockchain-scalability
  11. 11.
    McConaghy, T.: Blockchain Scalability Part I—The Problem. 14 February 2015. http://trent.st/blog/2015/2/14/blockchain-scalability-part-i-the-problem.html
  12. 12.
    Vukolic, M.: The Quest For Scalable Blockchain Fabric: Proof-of-Work vs. BFT Replication. In: Open Problems in Network Security—IFIP WG 11.4 International Workshop, iNetSec 2015, pp. 112–125. Zurich, Switzerland, October 2015Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    Torpey, K.: 6 Possible Solutions for Bitcoin Scalability. 30 June 2015. https://www.coingecko.com/buzz/six-possible-solutions-for-bitcoin-scalability
  14. 14.
    Quentson, A.: Cornell Study Recommends 4MB Blocksize for Bitcoin. 31 March 2016. https://www.cryptocoinsnews.com/cornell-study-recommends-4mb-blocksize-bitcoin
  15. 15.
    Rizzo, P.: Making Sense of Bitcoin’s Divisive Block Size Debate. CoinDesk, 19 Jan 2016. http://www.coindesk.com/making-sense-block-size-debate-bitcoin/
  16. 16.
  17. 17.
    Block size limit controversy, biotcoin wiki. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Block_size_limit_controversy, Accessed on 31 May 2017
  18. 18.
    Hertig, A.: A Lower Block Time Could Help Bitcoin Scale, But Will It Work? CoinDesk, 26 Oct 2016. http://www.coindesk.com/lower-bitcoin-block-time-scale/
  19. 19.
    Number of Orphaned Blocks. https://blockchain.info/charts/n-orphaned-blocks. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  20. 20.
    Litecoin Blockchain Explorer. CryptoID, https://chainz.cryptoid.info/ltc/#!extraction. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  21. 21.
    Buterin, V.: Toward a 12-second Block Time. https://blog.ethereum.org/2014/07/11/toward-a-12-second-block-time. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  22. 22.
    Poon, J., Dryja, T.: The Bitcoin Lightning Network: Scalable Off-Chain Instant Payments. Technical Report. https://lightning.network/lightning-network-paper.pdf. Jan 2016, Draft Version 0.5.9.2
  23. 23.
    Sofia: How the Bitcoin Lightning Network Could Solve the Blockchain Scalability Problem. 6 June 2016. https://letstalkpayments.com/how-bitcoin-lightening-network-could-solve-blockchain-scalability-problem
  24. 24.
    van Valkenburgh, P.: What are Forks, Alt-coins, Meta-coins, and Sidechains? 8 Dec 2015. https://coincenter.org/entry/what-are-forks-alt-coins-meta-coins-and-sidechains
  25. 25.
    What is merged mining—Bitcoin & Namecoin—Litecoin & Dogecoin? 25 Oct 2016. https://www.cryptocompare.com/mining/guides/what-is-merged-mining-bitcoin-namecoin-litecoin-dogecoin
  26. 26.
    Eyal, I., Efe Gencer, A., Gün Sirer, E., van Renesse, R.: Bitcoin-NG: A Scalable Blockchain Protocol. In: 13th USENIX Symposium on Networked Systems Design and Implementation, Santa Clara, CA, Mar 2016Google Scholar
  27. 27.
    Eyal, I., Sirer, E. G.: Bitcoin-NG: A Secure, Faster, Better Blockchain. 14 October 2015. http://hackingdistributed.com/2015/10/14/bitcoin-ng
  28. 28.
    Bradley, J.: On Scaling Decentralized Blockchains. Cryptocoins news, 18 Feb 2016. https://www.cryptocoinsnews.com/scaling-decentralized-blockchains
  29. 29.
    Jovanovic, P.: ByzCoin: Securely Scaling Blockchains. 4 August 2016. http://hackingdistributed.com/2016/08/04/byzcoin
  30. 30.
    Kogias, E. K., Jovanovic, P., Gailly, N., Khoffi, I., Gasser, L., Ford, B.: Enhancing Bitcoin Security and Performance with Strong Consistency via Collective Signing. In: 25th USENIX Security Symposium, Austin, TX, August 2016Google Scholar
  31. 31.
    Sidechains, Treechains, the TL; DR: Welcome to join discussion. 2 August 2014. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=721564.0
  32. 32.
    Todd, P.: Re: [Bitcoin-development] Tree-chains preliminary summary. 22 March 2014. https://www.mail-archive.com/bitcoin-development@lists.sourceforge.net/msg04388.html
  33. 33.
    Infante, A.: Tree Chains vs. Side Chains: The Controversy Explained. 24 October 2014. https://coinreport.net/tree-chains-vs-side-chains-controversy-explained
  34. 34.
    Sanders, G.: Sidechains, Treechains, the TL; DR. 13 June 2014. https://blog.greenaddress.it/2014/06/13/sidechains-treechains-the-tldr
  35. 35.
    Lewenberg, Y., Sompolinsky, Y., Zohar, A.: Inclusive block chain protocols. In Financial Cryptography and Data Security. In: 19th International Conference, FC 2015, pp. 528–547. 2015Google Scholar
  36. 36.
    Greenspan, G.: MultiChain Private Blockchain—White Paper. Coin Sciences Ltd., http://www.multichain.com/download/MultiChain-White-Paper.pdf. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  37. 37.
    Buterin, V.: Scalability, Part 3: On Metacoin History and Multichain. 13 November 2014. https://blog.ethereum.org/2014/11/13/scalability-part-3-metacoin-history-multichain/
  38. 38.
    BUIP024: Extension Blocks with Address Sharding. Bitcoin Forum. https://bitco.in/forum/threads/buip024-extension-blocks-with-address-sharding.1353/. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  39. 39.
    Zamfir, V.: Scaling Bitcoin Workshop: Montreal 2015—Sharding the Blockchain. https://scalingbitcoin.org/transcript/montreal2015/sharding-the-blockchain. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  40. 40.
    Sharding FAQ. Ethereum Wiki. https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/Sharding-FAQ. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  41. 41.
    EIP 105 (Serenity): Binary sharding plus contract calling semantics. https://github.com/ethereum/EIPs/issues/53. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  42. 42.
  43. 43.
    Blocke, J.: The Network Congestion Problem. 16 October 2016. https://keepingstock.net/network-congestion-is-problematic-c9d7829ed4ec#.d91t6vk9u
  44. 44.
    Hearn, M.: The Resolution of the Bitcoin Experiment. 14 January 2016. https://medium.com/@octskyward/the-resolution-of-the-bitcoin-experiment-dabb30201f7#.c5eb0hctq. Accessed on 31 May 2017
  45. 45.
  46. 46.
    Ernst, D.: Problems. 23 May 2016. https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/Problems
  47. 47.
    EYAL, I.: The Miner’s Dilemma. In: 2015 IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy, San Jose, CA, pp. 89–103. (2015)Google Scholar
  48. 48.
    Karame, G. O., Androulaki, E., Roeschlin, M., Gervais, A., Capkun, S.: Misbehaviorin bitcoin: a study of double-spending and accountability. ACM Trans. Inf. Sys. Secur. 18(1), 21–32 (May 2015)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing AG 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of Computer ScienceUniversity of Nevada Las VegasLas VegasUSA

Personalised recommendations