Portrayal, Identification and Delineation of the River Saraswatī

  • K. S. ValdiyaEmail author
Part of the Society of Earth Scientists Series book series (SESS)


The Saraswatī was a highly venerated river in the times it watered the vast expanse of the land known as Saptasindhav—the land of seven rivers (Rigved, 8.24.27) namely Saraswatī, Parushnī, Vipāsh, Asiknī, Vitastā, Sindhu and Kumbhā. Presently known as the Ghagghar, the Beās, the Rāvi, the Chenāb, the Jhelam, the Indus and the Kābul rivers respectively, these seven rivers held sway over the larger part of northwestern India.


Horse Chestnut Indian Space Research Organization Greyish Sand Cholistan Desert Foothill Belt 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing AG 2017

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Geodynamics UnitJawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific ResearchBengaluruIndia

Personalised recommendations