The Lacrimal Apparatus

  • Mohammad Wakeel AnsariEmail author
  • Ahmed Nadeem


The lacrimal apparatus consists of two divisions. The first is the secretory part, which is responsible for the production of tears, and the second is the drainage part. The secretory part contains the main lacrimal gland, which is lodged in a fossa in the lateral part of the roof of the orbit, and two accessory lacrimal glands of Krause and Wolfring. The latter are present near the fornix. They are often called basal secretors because normally their secretions are sufficient to serve the purpose for which tears are meant without any need of drainage to the nose.


Lacrimal apparatus Secretory parts Drainage parts Main lacrimal gland Accessory lacrimal glands of Krause and Wolfring Tear film Lysozyme Superior and inferior puncta Vertical and horizontal canaliculi Medial canthus Lacrimal sac Nasolacrimal duct Inferior meatus of nose Delayed canalization of nasolacrimal duct Epiphora Lacrimation 

Suggested Reading

  1. Parsons’ Diseases of the Eye, edn 16. Revised by Miller SJH. London: Churchill Livingstone; 1979. pp. 1–14; 545–60Google Scholar
  2. Riordon-Eva P, Cunningham E (2011) Vaughan and Asbury’s general ophthalmology, edn 18. McGraw Hill, New York, pp 1–26Google Scholar
  3. Trevor-Roper PD (1974) The eye and its disorders. Blackwell Scientific Publications, London, pp 26–44, 323–34Google Scholar
  4. Wolff’s E (1976) Anatomy of the eye and orbit, edn 7. Revised by Warwick R. London: HK Lewis; 1976; pp. 1–29; 30–180DGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2016

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Des PlainesUSA
  2. 2.Core Faculty, Emergency Medicine Residency ProgramMidwestern UniversityDowners GroveUSA
  3. 3.Provident Hospital of Cook CountyCook County Health and Hospitals Systems, Emergency MedicineChicagoUSA

Personalised recommendations