Extraocular and Intraocular Muscles

  • Mohammad Wakeel AnsariEmail author
  • Ahmed Nadeem


The extraocular muscles include the orbicularis oculi, levator palpebrae superioris, four rectus and two oblique muscles, totaling eight. The four rectus muscles have a common origin from an oval ring at the apex of the orbit called the annulus of Zinn, which encompasses the optic foramen at the back and the wider medial part of the superior orbital fissure. The ring has an upper and a lower tendon. The upper part supplies origin to part of the medial and lateral recti and the whole of the superior rectus. The lower part provides origin to part of the lateral and medial recti and the whole of the inferior rectus.


Extraocular and intraocular muscles Four recti Two obliques Levator palpebrae superioris Orbicularis oculi Blinking reflex Unstriated involuntary muscles Cervical sympathetic Primary action Subsidiary action Neuromuscular control 

Suggested Reading

  1. Parsons’ Diseases of the Eye, edn 16. Revised by Miller SJH. London: Churchill Livingstone; 1979. pp. 1–14; 545–60Google Scholar
  2. Riordon-Eva P, Cunningham E (2011) Vaughan and Asbury’s general ophthalmology, edn 18. McGraw Hill, New York, pp 1–26Google Scholar
  3. Trevor-Roper PD (1974) The eye and its disorders. Blackwell Scientific Publications, London, pp 26–44, 323–34Google Scholar
  4. Wolff’s E (1976) Anatomy of the eye and orbit, edn 7. Revised by Warwick R. London: HK Lewis; 1976; pp. 1–29; 30–180DGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer International Publishing Switzerland 2016

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Des PlainesUSA
  2. 2.Core Faculty, Emergency Medicine Residency ProgramMidwestern UniversityDowners GroveUSA
  3. 3.Provident Hospital of Cook CountyCook County Health and Hospitals Systems, Emergency MedicineChicagoUSA

Personalised recommendations