Accountability and Security in the Cloud

Volume 8937 of the series Lecture Notes in Computer Science pp 275-288


Standards for Accountability in the Cloud

  • Alain PannetratAffiliated withCloud Security Alliance Email author 
  • , Jesus LunaAffiliated withCloud Security Alliance

* Final gross prices may vary according to local VAT.

Get Access


This paper examines the role of standards in the cloud with a particular focus on accountability, in the context of the A4Cloud Project (Accountability for the Cloud). To this end, we first provide a general overview of standards, what they are and how we can categorize them, as illustrated by a few cloud-specific examples. Next, we examine the intersection between standards and accountability, by highlighting how standards influence the A4Cloud Project and reciprocally how the A4Cloud Project aims to influence accountability related standards. We argue that specification standards can foster interoperability for the purpose of accountability, thereby making accountability more automated and pervasive. Finally, we take a closer look at a particular accountability requirement: the continuous monitoring of the compliance of cloud services. This is an area of great interest for standardization, which faces many research challenges.


Cloud Standards Accountability Interoperability Security Monitoring