Skip to main content

Call Tracking Technology Selection Model

  • 858 Accesses

Part of the Innovation, Technology, and Knowledge Management book series (ITKM)

Abstract

In this chapter we evaluate the selection of a call tracking feature for an existing marketing automation solution. This type of selection process has become much more complex over time based on the sheer volume of offerings available, different technical approaches to implementation, and service plans (features plus costs). In order to manage this complexity for decision making, we gathered a set of core requirements from the client, assembled a panel of experts to rank the importance of requirements, and then evaluated the potential solutions based on those criteria. The actual decision making methodology used in this study is the hierarchical decision model (HDM) testing two alternative methods for evaluating the expert criteria ranking. In this case, by focusing on client requirements, rather than specific technologies or implementation approaches, allows us to greatly simplify this complex decision making process in the absence of a more detailed technical analysis of every possible solution.

Keywords

  • Implementation Time
  • Marketing Material
  • Loan Officer
  • Core Requirement
  • Internal Inconsistency

These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

This is a preview of subscription content, access via your institution.

Buying options

Chapter
USD   29.95
Price excludes VAT (USA)
  • DOI: 10.1007/978-3-319-05651-7_2
  • Chapter length: 20 pages
  • Instant PDF download
  • Readable on all devices
  • Own it forever
  • Exclusive offer for individuals only
  • Tax calculation will be finalised during checkout
eBook
USD   109.00
Price excludes VAT (USA)
  • ISBN: 978-3-319-05651-7
  • Instant PDF download
  • Readable on all devices
  • Own it forever
  • Exclusive offer for individuals only
  • Tax calculation will be finalised during checkout
Softcover Book
USD   149.99
Price excludes VAT (USA)
Hardcover Book
USD   169.99
Price excludes VAT (USA)
Fig. 2.1
Fig. 2.2
Fig. 2.3

References

  1. Kalpana Ettenson (2010) Enterprise Phone Systems Buyer’s Guide. Technology Evaluation Centers [Online]. http://whitepapers.technologyevaluation.com/html/20732/enterprise-phone-systems-buyers-guide.html

  2. Kocaoglu DF (2011) Hierarchical decision modeling. PSU ETM EMGT 530 Class Notes Spring

    Google Scholar 

  3. CrumDD (2011) Introduction to VoIP Business Communications, http://www.positivearticles.com/Article/Criteria-for-Selecting-Your-VOIP-Solution/41687. Accessed 21 May 2011

  4. AVAD Hosted VoIP PBX Business (Ed.) (2010) https://sites.google.com/a/avadtechnologies.com/business-voip/business-voip-articles/small-business-voip-articles/critieria-for-selecting-a-voip-service-provider. Accessed 14 Jan 2010

  5. PROGNOSIS (2007) Multi-vendor IP telephony management: challenges & solution

    Google Scholar 

  6. The Standish Group (2009) CHAOS summary 2009. http://www.standishgroup.com/newsroom/chaos_2009.php

  7. Dan Galorath (2008) (updated Sep. 2009) Software project failures cost billions. Better estimating can help. http://www.galorath.com/wp/software-project-failure-costs-billions-better-estimation-planning-can-help.php

  8. Daim T et al (2009) Technology assessment for clean energy technologies: the case of the Pacific Northwest. Technol Soc 31:232–243

    CrossRef  Google Scholar 

  9. Mantra Solutions. http://www.mantra-solutions.com/about%20us.html

  10. Ajgaonkar A, Jefferis S (2003) Use of HDM for site selection of MLB stadium in Portland, PICMET Paper

    Google Scholar 

  11. Kocaoglu DF (1983) A participative approach to program evaluation. IEEE Trans Eng Manage EM-30(3)

    Google Scholar 

  12. Ajgaonkar, Priya. et. al. “ Use of Hierarchical Decision Modeling for Site Selection of a Major League Baseball Stadium in Portland”. PICMET 2003.

    Google Scholar 

Download references

Author information

Authors and Affiliations

Authors

Corresponding author

Correspondence to Wilson Zehr .

Editor information

Editors and Affiliations

Appendix

Appendix

No. Company name Website address
1 XO Communications www.xo.com
2 Call Fire www.callfire.com
3 Dynamicic www.dynamicic.com
4 Who’s Calling www.whoscalling.com
5 Dial 800 www.dial800.com
6 Call Source www.callsource.com
7 Customer Direct www.customerdirect.com
8 Integra Telecom www.integratelecom
9 Answer Connect www.answerconnect.com
10 Call Experts www.callexpert.com
11 We Answer www.weanswer.com
12 ansafone.com www.ansafone.com
13 3COM www.3com.com
14 Aastra Telecom www.aastra.com
15 ADTRAN Inc. www.aastra.com
16 Dialexia Communications Inc. www.dialexia.com
17 Cisco Systems Inc. www.cisco.com
18 Ring Central www.ringcentral.com
19 E Voice www.evoice.com/
20 My 1 Voice www.my1voice.com
21 Free Voice www.freevoicepbx.com
22 Fonality www.fonality.com
23 freelineusa www.freelineusa.com
24 Intelecom Solutions Inc. www.intele-com.com
25 Talk Switch www.talkswitch.com
26 All Worx Corp www.allworx.com
27 MiTel www.mitel.com
28 Vertical Communications www.vertical.com
29 AVAYA Inc. www.avaya.com
30 SOHOware www.sohoware.com
31 Shoretel www.shoretel.com
32 NEC Corp. of America www.necwave.com

Rights and permissions

Reprints and Permissions

Copyright information

© 2014 Springer International Publishing Switzerland

About this chapter

Cite this chapter

Zehr, W., Alawini, A., Alharbi, M., Borgan, M. (2014). Call Tracking Technology Selection Model. In: Daim, T., Neshati, R., Watt, R., Eastham, J. (eds) Technology Development. Innovation, Technology, and Knowledge Management. Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-05651-7_2

Download citation