Impairment of Antigen-Specific T Cell Proliferative Response in B Cell Suppressed Mice

  • Yacov Ron
  • Patrick De Baetselier
  • Julius Gordon
  • Michael Feldman
  • Shraga Segal
Part of the Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology book series (AEMB, volume 149)


The specific antigen-induced in vitro proliferation of T lymphocytes derived from in vivo primed animals is often used as a convenient measure of cell-mediated immunity and has provided a powerful tool for the study of antigen specificity of T lymphocytes. Moreover, this experimental system allows the examination of the role of major histocompatibility complex gene products in the interactions between antigen-presenting cells (APC)3 and T cells. However, the immunological identity of such antigen-reactive T cells is not yet determined. These cells were believed to be in vitro correlates of the cells mediating delayed type hypersensitivity in vivo, but this assumption was challenged by recent reports (1,2) which demonstrated that cells of contact sensitivity and the cells that can respond in vitro by proliferation to the same antigen, belong to two different subsets of T cells and cooperation between the two subsets is not required for the generation of the response.


Spleen Cell Phosphoryl Choline Popliteal Lymph Node Contact Sensitivity Cell Proliferative Response 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.



antigen-presenting cell


complete Freund’s adjuvant


fluorescence activated cell sorter


human gamma globulin




keyhole limpet hemocyanin




phosphate-buffered saline


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    J.W. Moorhead. J. Immunol. 120:137 (1978).PubMedGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    S.F. Shirley, and J.A. Little. J. Immunol. 123:2883 (1978).Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    D.M. Keller, J.E. Wsierkosz, P. Marrach, and J.W. Kappler J. Immunol. 124:1350 (1980).PubMedGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    T. Tada, T. Takemori, K. Okumura, M. Nonaka, and T. Tokuhisa. J. Exp. Med. 147:446 (1978).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    C.A. Janeway, Jr., D.L. Bert, and F.W. Shen. Eur. J. Immunol. 10:231 (1980).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    C.A. Janeway, Jr., R.A. Murigita, F.I. Weinbaum, R. Asofsky and H. Wigzell. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 74:4582 (1977).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    J.R. Janeway, Jr. Fed. Proc. 38:2071 (1979).PubMedGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    J. Gordon. J. Immunol. Meth. 25:227 (1979).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    K. Bottomly, C.A. Janeway, Jr., B.J. Mathieson, and D.E. Moiser. Eur. J. Immunol. 10:159 (1979).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    H. Binz, and H. Wigzell. Cont. Top. Immunobiol. 7:133 (1977).Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    K. Rajewsky, and K. Eichmann. Cont. Top. Immunobiol. 7:69 (1977).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    D.J. Kemp, A. Wilson, A.W. Harris, and K. Shortman. Nature 286:168 (1980).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    L.A. Herzenberg, K. Okumura, H. Cantor, V.L. Sato, F.W. Shen, E.A. Boyse, and L.A. Herzenberg. J. Exp. Med. 144:330 (1976).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    D. Herzenberger, and K. Eichmann. Eur. J. Immunol. 8:846 (178).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Plenum Press, New York 1982

Authors and Affiliations

  • Yacov Ron
    • 1
  • Patrick De Baetselier
    • 1
    • 2
  • Julius Gordon
    • 1
    • 3
  • Michael Feldman
    • 1
  • Shraga Segal
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of Cell BiologyThe Weizmann Institute of ScienceRehovotIsrael
  2. 2.Department of Molecular BiologyFree University of BrusselsBelgium
  3. 3.Department of SurgeryMcGill UniversityMontrealCanada

Personalised recommendations