The Pharmacology of the Eye

  • George M. Maxwell


The eye is spherical, contained in the orbit, and, except at the front, has three layers. These are: the innermost light-sensitive retina, the middle nutritive area, or uvea, and the outer protecting sclera. The latter is replaced anteriorly by the transparent cornea, and the uvea is subdivided into three areas: the choroid which is deep to the retina, and the iris and ciliary body in the anterior eye. The last two regulate light-entry. The interior structures are the lens suspended between the ciliary bodies, and the aqueous humour which is present in two areas. The first of these is the anterior chamber, which is between the cornea, and the central anterior surfaces of the lens and iris. The posterior chamber is between the ciliary body, the anterior edge of the lens, and the back of the iris. The vitreous humour occupies the space behind the lens and ciliary bodies and extends to the retina. The general structure is shown in Figure 15.1.


Aqueous Humour Sodium Cromoglycate Ciliary Body Vitreous Humour Allergic Conjunctivitis 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Calissendorff, G.A. van, B., Seideman, P., Widmark, K. and Widmark, G. (1980) ‘Absorption of Ocular Timolol’, Clin. Pharmacokinet., 5, 95–100CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. Gardiner, P., MacKeith, R. and Smith, V. (eds) (1969) ‘Aspects of Developmental and Paediatric Ophthalmology’, Clinics in Developmental Medicine No. 32, (S.I.M.P. and Heinemann Medical, London )Google Scholar
  3. Schwartz, B. (1978) ‘The Glaucomas’, New Engl. J. Med., 299, 182–184CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© George M. Maxwell 1984

Authors and Affiliations

  • George M. Maxwell
    • 1
  1. 1.University of AdelaideAustralia

Personalised recommendations