Gran Sasso Physics

  • I. A. Pless
Part of the The Subnuclear Series book series (SUS, volume 25)


A description is given of the Gran Sasso Laboratory and the approved physics program. The four major detectors, LVD, ICARUS, MACRO and GALLEX are described. The programs of neutrino physics, particle physics, astrophysics, cosmic ray physics, nuclear physics and geophysics are outlined. The physics topics of neutrino oscillations, dark matter, solar neutrinos, and proton decay are discussed in some detail.


Dark Matter Neutrino Oscillation Solar Neutrino Proton Decay Neutrino Flux 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Plenum Press, New York 1990

Authors and Affiliations

  • I. A. Pless
    • 1
  1. 1.Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyCambridgeUSA

Personalised recommendations