The Identification of Murine Peyer’s Patch T Cell-Derived Factors which Enhance IgA Responses

  • K. W. Beagley
  • J. H. Eldrigde
  • H. Kiyono
  • J. R. McGhee
Part of the Advances in Experimental Medicine and Biology book series (AEMB, volume 237)


The humoral immune response to ingested antigens is dominated by antibody of the IgA isotype. In the mouse as in other higher mammals the major inductive site of secretory IgA responses is the Peyer’s patch (1). Work in this and other laboratories has indicated that regulatory T cells (2) and accessory cells (3) within the PP microenvironment play an important role in controlling the isotype specificity of mucosal immune responses. We have previously shown that treatment of whole PP cell populations, derived by enzymatic disaggregation, with the oxidative mitogen sodium periodate results in the formation of cell clusters enriched in L3T4+ T cells and dendritic cells (DC) (4). Co-culture of these cluster cells with either PP B cells or bone marrow mononuclear cells enhances polyclonal IgA production(5). Furthermore, the IgA inductive effect of the cluster cells is also found in 7 day culture supernatants of isolated clusters, indicating that the effect is mediated by soluble factors. T cell hybridomas have been produced from cluster T cells and the culture supernatants screened for IgA enhancing activity on whole PP cultures. Culture supernatants which showed IgA enhancing activity were tested for well characterized lymphokines including IL-2, IL-4 and IL-5. Attempts were also made to generate DC hybridomas by fusion of DC enriched cluster populations with a HAT sensitive subclone of the macrophage line P388D1. These initial fusions however, produced further T cell hybridomas as demonstrated by expression of surface Thy 1.2 antigen and the production of multiple T cell lymphokines. Culture supernatants from several of these hybridomas also showed potent IgA enhancing activity when added to whole PP cell cultures or LPS stimulated spleen B cell cultures. In all cases, hybridoma supernatants exhibiting IgA enhancing activity were positive for IL-4 and IL-5. To further investigate the role of these lymphokines in IgA synthesis, LPS stimulated spleen B cells and nonstimulated PP B cells were cultured with recombinant IL-4 and/or IL-5 to see if the IgA enhancing activity was associated with these molecules.


Bone Marrow Mononuclear Cell Sodium Periodate Cell Differentiation Factor Enzymatic Disaggregation P388D1 Cell Line 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    J. R. McGhee, S. M., Michalek, H. Kiyono, S. I. Williamson, T. A. Brown, and J. Mestecky, Mucosal immunoregulation: IgA inductive sites, isotype-specific helper T cells, gut influence, and subclass distribution of IgA antibodies. Bayer Symposium VIII, Springer Verlag, pp. 85–98 (1985).Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    H. Kiyono and J. R. McGhee, Mucosal T cell networks: Role of Fc R T cells and IgBF in regulation of the IgA response. Intern. Rev. Immunol. 2: 157 (1987).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    D. M. Spalding, S. I. Williamson, W. J. Koopman, and J. R. McGhee, Preferential induction of polyclonal IgA secretion by murine Peyer’s patch dendritic cell-T cell mixtures, J. Exp. Med. 160: 941 (1984).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    K. W. Beagley, J. H. Eldridge, H. Kiyono, and J. R. McGhee, Analysis of Peyer’s patch T cell and accessory cell populations involved in IgA isotype-specific immunoregulation, Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology Proceedings 46: 783 Abst 2725 (1987).Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    K. W. Beagley, J. H. Eldridge, C. D. Alley, H. Kiyono, and J. R. McGhee, Enhancement of IgA isotype-specific responses by Peyer’s patch dendritic cell activated T cells. Proc. Am. Soc. Microbiol. Abst E-53 (1987).Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    T. Kinashi, N. Harada, E. Severinson, T. Tanabe, P. Sideras, M. Konishi, C. Azuma, A. Tominaga, S. Bergstedt-Lindqvist, M. Takahashi, F. Matsuda, Y. Yaoita, K. Takatsu, and T. Honjo, Cloning of complementary DNA encoding T-cell replacing factor and identity with B-cell growth factor II. Nature 324: 70 (1986).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    P. C. Isakson, E. Pure, E. S. Vitetta, and P. H. Krammer, T cell-derived B cell differentiation factors. J. Exp. Med. 155: 734 (1982).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    K. Takatsu, N. Harada, Y. Hara, Y. Takahama, G. Yamada, K. Dobashi, and T. Hamaoka, Purification and physicochemical characterization of murine T cell replacing factor (TRF). J. Immunol. 134: 382 (1985).PubMedGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    H. Kawanishi, L. E. Saltzman, and W. Strober, Mechanisms regulating IgA class-specific immunoglobulin production in murine gut-associated lymphoid tissues. I. T cells derived from Peyer’s pathces that switch slgM B cells to slgA B cells in vitro. J. Exp. Med. 157: 433 (1983).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    H. Kawanishi, L. E. Saltzman, and W. Strober, Mechanisms regulating IgA class-specific immunoglobulin production in murine gut-associated lymphoid tissues. II. Terminal differentiation of postswitch slgA-bearing Peyer’s patch B cells. J. Exp. Med. 158: 649 (1983).PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Plenum Press, New York 1988

Authors and Affiliations

  • K. W. Beagley
    • 1
  • J. H. Eldrigde
    • 1
  • H. Kiyono
    • 1
  • J. R. McGhee
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of Microbiology, Oral and Preventive DentistryUniversity of Alabama at BirminghamBirminghamUSA

Personalised recommendations