The Crystal Structure of the Photosynthetic Reaction Center from Rhodopseudomonas Viridis

  • J. Deisenhofer
  • H. Michel
Part of the NATO ASI Series book series (NSSA, volume 126)


The photosynthetic reaction center (RC) from the purple photosynthetic bacterium Rhodopseudomonas viridis consists of the four protein subunits H (“heavy”), M (“medium”), L [“light”), and cytochrome. It contains as prosthetic groups four bacteriochlorophyll-b (BChl-b), two bacteriopheophytin-b (BPh-b), one non-heme iron, two quinones, and four heme groups. The total molecular weight of the RC complex is about 140000. In vivo, the RC is located in the inner membrane of the bacterium and, after absorption of light energy, performs the primary charge separation of the photosynthetic process. It is know from spectroscopic studies that an electron is transferred from a primary donor (a “special pair” of BChls) to a primary acceptor (a quinone) via a BChl and a BPh.


Reaction Center Pyrrole Ring Menaqui None Heme Group Special Pair 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    Michel, H., J. Mol. Biol. 158:567 (1982)PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Deisenhofer, J., Epp, O., Miki, K., Huber, R. and Michel, H., J. Mol. Biol. 180:385 (1984)PubMedCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Deisenhofer, J., Michel, H. and Huber, R., Trends Biochem. Sci. 10:243 (1985)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Deisenhofer, J., Epp, O., Miki, K., Huber, R. and Michel, H., Nature 318/618 (1985).CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 1987

Authors and Affiliations

  • J. Deisenhofer
    • 1
  • H. Michel
    • 1
  1. 1.Max-Planck-Institut fuer BiochemieMartinsriedGermany

Personalised recommendations