A Regional Approach to Agricultural Development and Its Potential Insights for Nutrition Planning

  • Donald R. Fiester


The United States has provided agricultural assistance bilaterally to the five countries of Central America—Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and E1 Salvador—since the end of the Second World War. In 1962, upon the creation of the Central American Common Market, the U.S. developed the Regional Office for Central American Programs (ROCAP) to assist in promoting regionwide support for the Common Market. Recently, ROCAP’s role has been reoriented toward activities of a research and development nature, of broad interest to all five countries, centering on the area’s small-farm problems.


Small Farm Regional Approach Extension Agent Rural Sector Case Misuse 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Plenum Press, New York 1982

Authors and Affiliations

  • Donald R. Fiester
    • 1
  1. 1.Regional Office for Central American ProgramsAgency for International Development, Department of StateGuatemala CityGuatemala

Personalised recommendations