X-Ray Studies of Point Defects in Rare Gas Solids

  • R. Balzer
  • E.J. Giersberg


Point defects in solid Argon have been created by X-irradiation at 10 K. Lattice parameter change can be used as a measure of defect concentration. From dose curves the defect formation yield was determined. The absorbed energy per Frenkel pair was found to be EFP = (20 ± 5) eV. The volume of spontaneous recombination was determined to be v = 60 atomic volumes in Argon after irradiation at 10 K. From isochronal and isothermal annealing measurements at least 7 different annealing stages can be separated. The first 5 stages with annealing temperatures up to 23 K are due to single defect recombination. The activation energy for uncorrelated single defect recombination was found to be w = 55 meV.


Defect Formation Defect Concentration Atomic Volume Annealing Stage Frenkel Pair 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    R. Balzer and E.J.Giersberg, Physica Status Solidi (a) 57, K141 (1980).Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    R. Balzer, 0. Kroggel, and H. Spalt: to be published in Journal of Physics C.Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    H. Kanzaki: Journal of Physics and Chemistry of Solids 2, 24 and 107 (1957).Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    R.M.J. Cotterill and M. Doyama: Physics Letters 27A, 35 (1967).Google Scholar
  5. 5.
    M. Doyama and R.M. J. Cotterill: Physical Review B1, 832 (1970).Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    I.Y. Fugol: Advances in Physics 27, 1 (1978).Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    Topics in Applied Physics: Vol.30 Excimer Lasers.Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    J.A. Barker and A. Pompe: Australien Journal of Chemistry 21, 1683 (1948).Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    J. de Boer: Physica 14, 139 (1948).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 1981

Authors and Affiliations

  • R. Balzer
    • 1
  • E.J. Giersberg
    • 1
  1. 1.Institut für Angewandte PhysikTechnischen Hochschule DarmstadtDarmstadtGermany

Personalised recommendations