The Thalamus pp 85-149 | Cite as

Principles of Thalamic Organization

  • Edward G. Jones


From the earliest developmental and comparative studies, it has been customary to divide the thalamus into three parts: epithalamus, dorsal thalamus, and ventral thalamus (Droogleever-Fortuyn, 1912; Herrick, 1918; Le Gros Clark, 1932a) (Fig. 3.1). Though these subdivisions were based in the first instance on the derivatives of three of the cellular masses of the developing diencephalic wall (see Chapter 6), coupled with a certain amount of phylogenetic speculation, as the years have passed, the tripartite division has been given an increasingly strong connectional basis.


Thalamic Nucleus Lateral Geniculate Nucleus Dorsal Thalamus Dorsal Lateral Geniculate Nucleus Medial Geniculate Nucleus 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 1985

Authors and Affiliations

  • Edward G. Jones
    • 1
  1. 1.California College of MedicineUniversity of CaliforniaIrvineUSA

Personalised recommendations