Study of the excited state dynamics to improve the optical limiting performance of tetra tolyl porphyrins



The last two decades have witnessed an extensive research activity in the nonlinear optical, photophysical and photochemical properties of organic materials in general and metallo-porphyrins/related compounds in particular. The interest in metallo-porphyrins is many-fold. These molecules are found to have strong nonlinearity and fast response times, the desired criteria for making useful photonic devices. Previous theoretical and experimental studies have shown that there is an enhancement in the optical nonlinearity through population of the excited state1. Here, we look at the excited state contribution to nonlinear optical properties of tetra tolyl porphyrins as a function of the input intensity, the metal ions and the axial substituents. The aim of the present study has been to incorporate structural modifications to the porphyrins for application towards optical limiting. Optical limiting devices show linear absorbance at lower intensities and limit to a threshold transmittance at higher intensities due to reverse saturation of absorption. Such a nonlinear absorption can be achieved through excited state absorption (ESA) and two-photon absorption (TPA) in porphyrins. As the porphyrins posses very strong excited state absorption from both the triplet as well as the singlet states, they serve as the one of the best optical limiting materials. Study of the nonlinearity and elucidation of the dynamics associated with excited states of such molecules is therefore important from a fundamental as well as technological point of view.


Nonlinear Absorption Excited State Absorption Lower Excited State High Excited State Excited State Dynamic 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 1.
    D.C. Rodenberger, J.R. Heflin and A.F. Garito, Nature 359, 309, 1992.ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    D. Narayana Rao, S. Venugopal Rao, F.J. Aranda, D.V.G.L.N. Rao, and M. Nakashima, J. Opt. Soc. Am. B14, 2710, 1997.ADSGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    S. Venugopal Rao, N.K.M. Naga Srinivas, D. Narayana Rao, L. Giribabu, B.G. Maiya, R. Philip, and G.R. Kumar, Opt. Commun. 182, 255, 2000.ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    G.R.Kumar, M.Ravikanth, S.Banerjee and A. Servian, Opt. Commun. 144, 245, 1997).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    T. Barbour, W.J. Belcher, P.J. Brothers, C.E.F. Rickard, D.C. Ware, Inorg. Chem. 31,746,1992;CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. K.M. Kadish, Q.Y.Y. Xu, B.G. Maiya, J.-M, Barbe, R. Guilard, J. Chem. Soc. Dalton Trans., 1531, 1989Google Scholar
  7. 6.
    N. Morita and T. Yagima, Phys. Rev A 30, 2525, 1984ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 7.
    T. Kobayashi, A. Tarasaki, T. hattori and K. Kurrkava, Appl. Phys. B 47, 107, 1988ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 8.
    M. Sheik-Bahae, A.A. said, T.-H.Wei, D.J. Hagan, E.W. Van Stryland, IEEE J. Quantum Electron. 26, 760, 1990.ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 9.
    H.Okamoto, J.Opt. Soc. Am. B 10, 2353, 1993ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 10.
    S. Venugopal Rao, N.K.M. Naga Srinivas, D. Narayana Rao, L. Giribabu, B.G. Maiya, R. Philip, and G.R. Kumar, Opt. Commun. 192, 123, 2001ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 11.
    N.K.M. Naga Srinivas, S. Venugopal Rao, D.V.G.L.N. Rao, B.K. Kimball, M. Nakashima,B.S. DeCristofano and D. Narayana Rao, J. Porphyrins and Phthalocyanines, 5, 549, 2001 and reference therein.CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.School of PhysicsUniversity of HyderabadIndia
  2. 2.School of ChemistryUniversity of HyderabadHyderabadIndia

Personalised recommendations