History of the Red Planet

  • Peter Grego
Part of the Astronomers' Observing Guides book series (OBSERVING)


Four large protoplanets composed largely of silicates and metals – Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars – had grown to dominate the inner Solar System within around 200 million years of the collapse of the solar nebula and the formation of the protosun. None of these protoplanets is thought to have been massive enough to have attracted a disk of material from which its own satellite could have formed.


Solar Wind Solar System Mantle Convection Solar Nebula Martian Surface 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Peter Grego
    • 1
  1. 1.CornwallUK

Personalised recommendations