• Johannes A. Buchmann
Part of the Undergraduate Texts in Mathematics book series (UTM)


In 1997 the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) initiated the selection process for the successor of DES. One of the submissions was the Rijndael cipher. It is named after its inventors Rijmen and Daemen. On November 26, 2001 this encryption scheme has been standardized as the Advanced Encryption Standard (AES)


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 2004

Authors and Affiliations

  • Johannes A. Buchmann
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of Computer ScienceTechnical UniversityDarmstadtGermany

Personalised recommendations