The Oceanic Islands in the Eastern Pacific

  • Dieter Mueller-Dombois
  • F. Raymond Fosberg
Part of the Ecological Studies book series (ECOLSTUD)


There are four small oceanic archipelagoes and three isolated islands in the Eastem Pacific off the American coast. These scarcely form a natural geographic region, but they have certain aspects in common. We divide them into a northern and southern subregion. Included in the northern subregion are the Revillagigedo Islands; the three isolated islands Clipperton, Cocos, and Malpelo; and the Galápagos Islands (Fig. 10.1). In the southern subregion are the Desventuradas Islands, with San Felix and San Ambrosio, and the Juan Fernandez Islands, with Alejandro Selkirk (Masafuera), Robinson Crusoe (Masatierra), and Santa Clara Islands (Fig. 10.2). All are considered oceanic in nature, and their floristic relations are almost all American.


Oceanic Island Windward Side Tree Fern Endemic Genus Galapagos Island 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 1998

Authors and Affiliations

  • Dieter Mueller-Dombois
    • 1
  • F. Raymond Fosberg
    • 2
  1. 1.Department of BotanyUniversity of Hawai’i at MānoaHonoluluUSA
  2. 2.Museum of Natural HistorySmithsonian InstitutionUSA

Personalised recommendations