Storage Standards

Progress in the Datacenter
  • Marvin Waschke


Storage comes in three forms in cloud systems: directly attached storage (DAS), network attached storage (NAS), and storage area networks (SANs). These types of storage share standards, but each uses the standards in different ways. This chapter will discuss three types of standards: peripheral interface standards, transport standards, and file system standards. This chapter will not discuss the Cloud Data Management Interface (CDMI) standard from the Storage Networking Association (SNIA). CDMI may seem an obvious choice for this chapter, but it fits with the other cloud-specific standards better than with these lower-level storage standards.


Disk Drive Direct Memory Access Parallel Interface Channel Adapter Network File System 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© CA 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Marvin Waschke

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations