With the creation of the new counties Tyne and Wear and Cleveland, the county of Durham was reduced in size in 1974. In the north, an area south of the Tyne including Gateshead, Jarrow and the coastal town of South Shields and Sunderland became part of Tyne and Wear, while the south-east corner, including West Hartlepool, was transferred to Cleveland. In the south-west an area formerly in the North Riding of Yorkshire was added to the county of Durham. Thus the ratio of rural to industrial areas within the county was increased and in particular its largest ship-building towns became part of the new metropolitan counties.


Chief Executive District Council Major Accident Public Open Space Council House 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1978

Authors and Affiliations

  • A. Bax
  • S. Fairfield

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations