Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Established in 1962, the Central Bank of West African States (Banque Centrale des Etats de lAfrique de l’Ouest) is the common central bank of the eight member states which form the West African Monetary Union (WAMU). It has the sole right of currency issue throughout the Union territory and is responsible for the pooling of the Union’s foreign exchange reserve; the management of the monetary policy of the member states; the keeping of the accounts of the member states treasury; and the definition of the banking law applicable to banks and financial establishments.


Member State Monetary Policy Official Language Central African Republic African State 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2007

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations