The West African novel in English since 1960 is defined by the output of older novelists like Cyprian Ekwensi, Chinua Achebe, Elechi Amadi, Wole Soyinka, Flora Nwapa, John Munonye and Ayi Kwei Armah, and the contribution of latter-day novelists like Obinkaram Echewa, Ama Ata Aidoo, Ben Okri, Zaynab Alkali and Festus Iyayi. The work of Ekwensi, Achebe and Nwapa in particular spans the period under discussion: 1960 to the late eighties. Achebe’s second novel No Longer at Ease (1960), for example, is separated from his latest novel Anthills of the Savannah (1987) by almost three decades. The sequel to Ekwensi’s Jagua Nana (1961) appears twenty-five years later as Jagua Nana’s Daughter (1986). The message implicit in Flora Nwapa’s first novel Efuru (1966) — that ‘distinguished’ women like Efuru are ‘remarkable’ — is made explicit in her recent novel Women are Different (1986). Equally worthy of note is the observation that since the mid-seventies, the pitch of the new voices emerging in Anglophone West African fiction has been evident in novels like Echewa’s The Land’s Lord and The Crippled Dancer, Aidoo’s Our Sister Killjoy,1 Okri’s The landscapes Within, Alkali’s The Stillborn and Iyayi’s Heroes and Violence.


Lime Nigeria Heroine Dock Folk 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Abruquah, Joseph, The Catechist (London: Allen & Unwin, 1965).Google Scholar
  2. Achebe, Chinua, Anthills of the Savannah (London: Heinemann [Hardback], 1987).Google Scholar
  3. Achebe, Chinua, Arrow of God (second edition, 1974; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1980).Google Scholar
  4. Aidoo, Ama Ata, Our Sister Killjoy (London: Longman, 1977).Google Scholar
  5. Alkali, Zaynab, The Stillborn (London: Longman, 1984).Google Scholar
  6. Aluko, T. M., Chief the Honourable Minister (London: Heinemann, 1970).Google Scholar
  7. Aluko, T. M., Wrong Ones in the Dock (London: Heinemann, 1982).Google Scholar
  8. Amadi, Elechi, The Concubine (London: Heinemann, 1966).Google Scholar
  9. Amadi, Elechi, Estrangement (London: Heinemann, 1986).Google Scholar
  10. Amadi, Elechi, The Great Ponds (London: Heinemann, 1969).Google Scholar
  11. Amadi, Elechi, The Slave (London: Heinemann, 1978).Google Scholar
  12. Armah, Ayi Kwei, The Beautyful Ones Are Not Yet Born (Boston, 1968; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1977).Google Scholar
  13. Armah, Ayi Kwei, Fragments (Boston, 1970; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1974).Google Scholar
  14. Armah, Ayi Kwei, The Healers (Nairobi, 1978; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1979).Google Scholar
  15. Armah, Ayi Kwei, Two Thousand Seasons (Nairobi, 1973; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1979).Google Scholar
  16. Armah, Ayi Kwei, Why Are We So Blest? (New York, 1972; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1974).Google Scholar
  17. Awoonor, Kofi, This Earth, My Brother … (New York, 1971; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1972).Google Scholar
  18. Djoleto, Amu, Money Galore (London: Heinemann, 1975).Google Scholar
  19. Djoieto, Amu, The Strange Man (London: Heinemann, 1967).Google Scholar
  20. Echewa, T. Obinkaram, The Crippled Dancer (London: Heinemann, 1986).Google Scholar
  21. Echewa, T. Obinkaram, The Land’s Lord (London: Heinemann, 1976).Google Scholar
  22. Ekwensi, Cyprian, Beautiful Feathers (1963; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1971).Google Scholar
  23. Ekwensi, Cyprian, Jagua Nana (1961; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1975).Google Scholar
  24. Ekwensi, Cyprian, Jagua Nana’s Daughter (Ibadan: Spectrum Books, 1986).Google Scholar
  25. Ike, Chukwuemeka, The Naked Gods (1970; rpt. London & Glasgow: Fontana/Collins, 1971).Google Scholar
  26. Ike, Chukwuemeka, Toads for Supper (London & Glasgow: Fontana/Collins, 1965).Google Scholar
  27. Iroh, Eddie, Forty-Eight Guns for the General (London: Heinemann, 1976).Google Scholar
  28. Iroh, Eddie, The Siren in the Night (London: Heinemann, 1982).Google Scholar
  29. Maddy, Yulisa Amadu, No Past, No Present, No Future (London: Heinemann, 1973).Google Scholar
  30. Mezu, S.O., Behind the Rising Sun (London: Heinemann, 1971).Google Scholar
  31. Munonye, John, Obi (London: Heinemann, 1969).Google Scholar
  32. Munoye, John, Oil Man of Obange (London: Heinemann, 1971).Google Scholar
  33. Munoye, John, The Only Son (London: Heinemann, 1966).Google Scholar
  34. Munoye, John, A Wreath for the Maidens (London: Heinemann, 1973).Google Scholar
  35. Nwapa, Flora, Efuru (London: Heinemann, 1966).Google Scholar
  36. Nwapa, Flora, Idu (London : Heinemann, 1970).Google Scholar
  37. Nwapa, Flora, Women are Different (Ogui-Enugu: Tana Press, 1986).Google Scholar
  38. Okpewho, Isidore, The Victims (London: Longman, 1970).Google Scholar
  39. Okri, Ben, The Landscapes Within (Burnt Mill, Essex: Longman, 1981).Google Scholar
  40. Omotoso, Kole, The Scales (Ibadan: Onibonoje, 1976).Google Scholar
  41. Peters, Lenrie, The Second Round (London: Heinemann, 1965).Google Scholar
  42. Selormey, Francis, The Narrow Path (London: Heinemann; New York: Praeger, 1966).Google Scholar
  43. Soyinka, Wole, The Interpreters (1965; rpt. London: Heinemann, 1978).Google Scholar
  44. Soyinka, Wole, Season of Anomy (1973; rpt. New York: Third Press, 1974).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Kofi Owusu

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations