Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Commonwealth of Independent States, founded on 8 Dec. 1991 in Viskuli, a government villa in Belarus, is a community of independent states which proclaimed itself the successor to the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics in some aspects of international law and affairs. The member states are the founders, Russia, Belarus and Ukraine, and seven subsequent adherents: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Turkmenistan withdrew its permanent member status on 26 Aug. 2005 and became an associate member. Georgia withdrew on 18 Aug. 2008, with effect from 17 Aug. 2009.

Further Reading

  1. Brzezinski, Z. and Sullivan, P. (eds.) Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States: Documents, Data and Analysis. 1996Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2012

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations