Rise and Fall of Communist Pluralism
  • Christopher Bennett


Visitors to Yugoslavia in the 1970s and 1980s often had the country’s complexity explained to them as follows: Yugoslavia was one country with two alphabets (latin and cyrillic), three religions (Catholicism, Orthodoxy, Islam), four languages (Slovene, Macedonian, Croat, Serb), five nations (Serb, Croat, Slovene, Macedonian, Montenegrin), and six republics (Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Macedonia). While contrived, this description formed an integral part of every Yugoslav’s education as, for over 40 years from the end of the Second World War, Yugoslavs of all nationalities were taught, by their schooling and media, to love one another and to celebrate the diversity which made their country unique.


National Minority Communist State Autonomous Province Federal Centre German Minority 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Christopher Bennett

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations