The 14th century — Southern and Kentish dialects

  • Dennis Freeborn
Part of the Studies in English Language series book series (SEL)


There were four main dialect areas of Old English — West Saxon, Kentish, Mercian and Northumbrian (see section 3.2). In Middle English, they remain roughly the same, except that the Mercian Midlands of England show enough differences between the eastern and western parts for there to be two distinct dialects, because the eastern Midlands were part of the Danelaw. So the five principal dialects of ME are usually referred to as:
  • Southern

  • Kentish (or South East)

  • East Midland

  • West Midland

  • Northern


Mane Bark Prefix Suffix Verse 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Dennis Freeborn 1998

Authors and Affiliations

  • Dennis Freeborn

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations