Non-Home Office Forces

  • Ian Oliver


In addition to the 52 United Kingdom Forces which are subject to tripartite models of accountability, there are a number of other police agencies which operate under various statutes and to a much more limited extent than under the Police Acts 1964/1967; these forces are often referred to as ‘non-Home Office’ forces and the most notable of them exercise their jurisdiction throughout the United Kingdom. The three major forces are much more within the public purview than the minor Parks and Harbour Police, and in recent years they have attempted to demonstrate a much higher degree of public accountability.


Police Agency Police Authority Atomic Energy Authority Police Committee Swear Officer 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Ian Oliver 1997

Authors and Affiliations

  • Ian Oliver
    • 1
  1. 1.Grampian PoliceUK

Personalised recommendations