The Czechoslovak Government and its ‘disloyal’ opposition, 1918–1938

  • Věra Olivová


As constituted in 1918, Czechoslovakia was a new state; it was not a large one, and it had no roots in the European tradition. Three distinct regions were included in this new state: the lands of the former Czech crown, Slovakia, and Sub-Carpathian Ruthenia. The social structure of these three entities reflected their history; the lands of the Czech crown had been part of the Austrian Empire, and already presented a marked industrialised social structure. Slovakia and Ruthenia, which formed part of Hungary before the First World War, were agricultural regions where social differentiation was much less marked. Besides ethnic problems, the new Czechoslovak state inherited religious differences which found expression in the many political parties that dominated social life.


Foreign Policy Communist Party Social Democrat Nazi Party Czech Land 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© International Council for Soviet and East European Studies, and John Morison 1992

Authors and Affiliations

  • Věra Olivová

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations