E. M. Forster 1879–1970

  • Neil McEwan
Part of the Macmillan Anthologies of English Literature book series (AEL)


Edward Morgan Forster was born in London and educated at Tonbridge School, which he hated, and at King’s College, Cambridge, which he loved. He became a Fellow of King’s in 1946 and made the college his home. Travels in Italy provided the background for his first novel Where Angels Fear To Tread (1905). He published three more novels in quick succession: The Longest journey (1907), A Room with a View (1908) and Howard’s End (1910). The Celestial Omnibus (1911) was a collection of short stories. Forster travelled in India in 1912 and 1913, and again in 1921. A Passage to India (1924), one of the best books ever written by an Englishman about India, consolidated his reputation. Aspects of the Novel (1927) is a pleasantly informal introduction to its subject. Abinger Harvest (1936) and Two Cheers for Democracy (1951) are collections of essays and radio broadcasts in which Forster asserts the thoughtful, humane liberalism he championed throughout his life. He was awarded the Order of Merit in 1969.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Macmillan Publishers Limited 1989

Authors and Affiliations

  • Neil McEwan

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations