Out of Inferno

  • Margery Morgan
Part of the Macmillan Modern Dramatists book series (MD)


The next, and greatest, phase of Strindberg’s playwriting career followed the period of mental breakdown which ended in 1897. Since 1892 he had been unable to write. Now the dam burst and, in under four years, 1898–1902, there poured out: To Damascus (Parts I and II, 1898; Part III, 1901), Advent, Crimes and Crimes, Easter, The Dance of Death I and II, The Crown Bride, Swanwhite, A Dream Play, and a whole cycle of seven history plays. None of these was a quart d’heure piece, or even a standard one-act play, but all were major in length, substance and quality.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Notes and References

  1. 1.
    Evert Sprinchorn, Strindberg as Dramatist (Yale University Press, 1982).Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Margery Morgan 1985

Authors and Affiliations

  • Margery Morgan
    • 1
  1. 1.University of LancasterUK

Personalised recommendations