Constitution and Government

  • A. Jeyaratnam Wilson


The constitution which came into effect on 4 February 1948 when Sri Lanka became an independent sovereign state was no more than the Soulbury constitution of 1946 with certain consequential changes. The latter in turn was, with a number of not unimportant modifications, based on the Draft Scheme of 1944 framed by the Ceylonese board of ministers functioning under the Donoughmore constitution (Sessional Paper XIV of 1944).


Prime Minister Government Politics Eastern Province Opposition Parti Caste Group 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. 7.
    See J. L. Fernando, Three Prime Ministers of Ceylon-An ‘Inside Story’ (Colombo, 1963), pp. 39–40.Google Scholar
  2. 12.
    For a critical assessment of this action see S. A. de Smith, The New Commonwealth and its Constitutions (London, 1964), pp. 84–5.Google Scholar
  3. 23.
    See Sir John Kotelawala, An Asian Prime Minister’s Story (London, 1956), p. 130.Google Scholar
  4. 67.
    See W. A. Wiswa Warnapala, ‘Peoples Committees in Sri Lanka: An Experiment in Popular Participation’, Journal of Administration Overseas, Vol. XV, No. 2 (April, 1976), pp. 68–76.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© A. Jeyaratnam Wilson 1979

Authors and Affiliations

  • A. Jeyaratnam Wilson
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of Political ScienceUniversity of New BrunswickCanada

Personalised recommendations